Skip to Content

Is Paprika Gluten-Free? Where To Find Gluten-Free Paprika?

Sharing is caring!

I am sure that the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear the word gluten is bread or wheat flour. And yes, many types of bread contain gluten since they are made from flour.

Although bread is the most popular gluten product, there are some other products that you can find at the grocery store which contain a certain amount of gluten. And for people who have celiac disease, consuming it can be health-threatening.

Of course, many of those people tend to use various spices and seasonings in dishes; one of the most frequently used spices is paprika.

So, people with celiac disease or those who are on a gluten-free diet tend to ask, “Is paprika gluten-free?”. Fortunately, fresh paprika is gluten-free, but there are cases where gluten finds itself in paprika.

So, if you want to find out more, continue reading.

Is Paprika Gluten-Free?

spoonful of paprika spice

Paprika is a spice made from dried and ground red peppers. Since these fruits (yes, peppers are technically fruits) do not contain gluten, it is logical that paprika does not contain gluten either.

So, this spice is mostly safe for those of you who, for some reason, can’t consume gluten.

However, you have to be aware of the fact that some producers tend to produce paprika at facilities where gluten products are produced as well. In that case, their paprika product may contain some small gluten content due to cross-contamination.

Also, some producers of paprika tend to add a small amount of flour which prevents the paprika from clumping. It is therefore very important to carefully read the labeling which contains the ingredient list, as well as the allergen list.

And, it is also important to know which paprika brands are gluten-free so that you can plan ahead which brand you will choose.

What Brand Of Paprika Is Gluten-Free?

wooden spoon of paprika on white background

So if you are making some delicious and crispy Kennebec fries with paprika, but don’t want to consume gluten, there are solutions.

As I already said, you can always check the labeling of the product to see which ingredients it contains. But, it is much better to know what brands are gluten-free before you even head to the grocery store. Below is a gluten-free paprika brands list.

McCormick Paprika

One of the most popular brands when it comes to spices and seasonings is definitely McCormick. Because of that, many paprika lovers tend to ask “Is McCormick paprika gluten-free?”.

And, since it is stated on their website that they only make gluten-free seasonings that contain only one single ingredient, you can easily conclude that their paprika is also gluten-free.

Aside from being gluten-free, it is also stated that McCormack paprika is non-GMO, vegan and with no added sugars as well.

When it comes to the nutritional value of McCormack paprika, its nutritional value is zero.

Thrive Market Organic Paprika

Thrive Market is another famous brand, especially for people who follow a healthy diet. They mostly produce organic food and their paprika is organic as well.

Aside from being gluten-free, Thrive Market organic paprika is paleo, non-GMO, and vegan.

It also doesn’t contain any added sugars.

Nature’s Promise Organic Paprika

Nature’s Promise organic paprika is, as the name suggests, 100% organic. That means it does not contain any gluten. Aside from being gluten-free, Nature’s Promise organic paprika is also non-GMO, and kosher, and it is suitable for vegans as well.

It is available on FreshDirect for $3.99 for a 1.7-ounce container.

Definitely worth it in my opinion.

Simply Organic Ground Paprika

Yes, it is 100% gluten-free.

This ground paprika is produced by Simply Organic certified gluten-free, organic, and sustainably sourced. You can find it at many popular grocery stores, but in case you can’t find it, it is still available on Amazon and Thrive Market.

A 2.96-ounce container costs about $5.48.

Spicely Organic Paprika Powder

If you want a true organic paprika powder with no additives or preservatives, this one might be your best bet. This incredible paprika powder is gluten-free and non-GMO, and it doesn’t contain any preservatives or artificial coloring.

You can find it on and, of course, on Amazon.

Paprika Nutrition Facts

1 Teaspoon Of Paprika Nutritions

Now that you know that fresh and organic paprika doesn’t contain gluten or any other allergens that can threaten your health, it is not a bad idea to learn more about paprika and, especially, its nutritional value.

1 Teaspoon Of Paprika Nutritional Information:

• Calories: 7

• Total Fat: 0 g

• Trans Fat: 0 g

• Saturated Fat: 0 g

• Cholesterol: 0 g

• Potassium: 0 mg

• Sodium: 2 mg

• Carbohydrates: 1 g

• Protein: 0 g

• Dietary Fiber: 1 g

• Sugar: 0 g

What Is Paprika Good For?

paprika spice in a metal spoon

Just like any other type of spice, paprika has some health benefits that it can provide you with. That is because it contains certain nutrients that can be very beneficial for your overall health and the most popular nutrient is definitely capsaicin. But what does it do?

Well, capsaicin is a type of nutrient that has powerful antioxidant properties and it has an anti-inflammatory effect on your body. That means it can lower the inflammation in your body and, consequently, it can lower the pain.

Aside from that, since it is proven that high inflammation goes arm to arm with chronic diseases, capsaicin can protect you from those dangerous diseases as well.

Also, for those of you who are trying to lose weight, capsaicin is proven to accelerate metabolism and it has appetite-suppressing and anti-obesity properties.

Capsaicin can also protect you from heart diseases and improve your immune system.

But, capsaicin is not the only nutrient in paprika. Paprika is also rich in phosphorus, calcium, and potassium which are all beneficial for strong bones and muscles.

Some other nutrients that paprika contains include vitamin A, folate, choline, vitamin B6, niacin, vitamins E and K, as well as vitamin C.

Can You Be Allergic To Paprika?

close-up photo of paprika spice

Allergy to some types of food is a real thing and it can be very dangerous if you consume a food that you are allergic to. People are mostly allergic to various types of tree nuts.

Unfortunately, you can be allergic to paprika since it may contain some types of peppers that your body can’t handle. However, in most cases, paprika allergy symptoms are quite mild and they include dizziness, wheezing, swelling of the throat, as well as hives.

But, you also have to be aware that severe paprika allergies, which are fortunately not so common, can result in anaphylaxis, i.e. medical emergencies. Because of that, it is not a bad idea to get tested for allergies in order to be 100% sure.

Also, if you already know that you are allergic to paprika, you should always be extra careful when consuming some dishes in which paprika are incorporated, including various soups, sauces, marinades, casseroles, egg dishes, etc.

Is Smoked Paprika Bad For You?

paprika spice in a bowl

Alongside hot paprika and sweet paprika, there is also smoked paprika and it is one of the most popular types of paprika in the culinary world. It is also known as pimenton or Spanish paprika.

There is not much difference between regular types of paprika and smoked paprika except the fact that smoked paprika is made from slow-roasted or smoked peppers, which gives it a strong smoky flavor.

However, when it comes to health, smoked paprika also has more health benefits than regular types of paprika if you consume it in moderation, of course.

Fresh organic smoked paprika doesn’t contain gluten, it is suitable for vegans, and it is a low FODMAP spice which means it is suitable for people who have digestive problems such as IBS (irritable bowel syndrome).

All in all, you can freely consume smoked paprika as long as you do that in moderation. In case you want to avoid it or don’t have any, there are also some great smoked paprika substitutes.

What Spices Are Gluten-Free?

photo of various spices in different bowls

You have to know that all raw herbs, spices, and seasonings are gluten-free. Spices that contain only one ingredient are most likely without any gluten too. So, in order for you to know, here is a gluten-free spices list.

Gluten-Free Spices With One Ingredient

• Pepper

• Salt

• Garlic Powder

• Onion Powder

• Oregano

• Ginger

• Turmeric

• Paprika

• Coriander

• Rosemary

• Basil

• Marjoram

• Thyme

• Bay Leaves

• Garlic Salt

When it comes to seasoning mixes, things are a little more complicated because, in some cases, wheat starch that contains gluten, can be incorporated into the mix as an anti-aging agent. So, it is important to read the labeling. However, the freshly-made mixes listed below should be safe.

 Gluten-Free Seasoning Mixes

wooden table with ground and whole curry powder and turmeric in bowls beside hard bamboo sticks

• Curry Powder: ginger, turmeric, black pepper, and cumin.

• Italian Seasoning: oregano, basil, thyme, marjoram, and thyme.

• Garam Masala: peppercorns, cinnamon, mustard seeds, cardamom, cloves, nutmeg, mace, and coriander seeds.

• Taco Seasoning: oregano, chili, paprika, onion powder, garlic, powder, and salt.

• Tajin: sea salt, lime, and chili peppers.

Here are some major brands that produce gluten-free spices and seasonings. So, let’s take a look.

Brands That Produce Gluten-Free Spices And Seasonings

• McCormick Spices

• Hidden Valley

• Spice Island

• Litehouse

• Burlap & Barrel

And, finally, you should be aware of some brands that are known to include gluten in their products.

Brands That Include Gluten In Their Spices

• Kroger

• Lawry

• Old Bay

One more note. No matter what, always check the label of the product to be 100% sure that there is no gluten, especially if you are suffering from celiac disease. Be aware of cross-contamination as well.


paprika spoon portion of paprika powder

What Is The Difference Between Paprika And Chili Powder?

Both paprika and chili powder are made from chili peppers.

However, the main difference between these two amazing spices is the fact that paprika is made from one type of chili pepper, on the other hand, chili powder is made from a combination of chili peppers as well as other ingredients like garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, and sometimes salt.

Final Verdict On Gluten-Free Paprika

Paprika is an amazing spice that can come in various forms including sweet paprika, hot paprika, and smoked paprika. It can be incorporated into various types of dishes and it is quite healthy as well if consumed in moderation of course.

However, the question was “Is paprika gluten-free?”. As you could have seen, fresh organic paprika doesn’t contain any gluten so it is fairly safe to say that paprika is gluten-free.

However, some producers of paprika may incorporate wheat starch into paprika because it can act as an anti-aging agent and that paprika is no longer gluten-free.

Also, some brands make paprika at the same facilities where they make foods that contain gluten, so their paprika might not be gluten-free due to cross-contamination.

Those are all the important information that you should be aware of when searching for gluten-free paprika.

Is Paprika Gluten-Free Where To Find Gluten-Free Paprika